top of page
Search

"How Can I Keep from Singing?"

Updated: Aug 6, 2023


Sister Noella Marie McLeod, OP has been a familiar sight at Holy Cross Church for over four decades. Although she's now retired, she still supports the parish and the school with her music, her faith and her love of life. When asked to share her story with her Santa Cruz family, she responded with enthusiasm. Here is that story in her own words:


"Our family lived in Detroit, Michigan where my father was a policeman. I am the sixth child of a family eight, five boys and three girls. It will come as no surprise that our whole family sang. Although no one was a trained musician, we all had our voice parts and sang harmony. I have been singing since I could talk. I led singing in classes at St. Gabriel School where we were taught by Adrian Dominican Sisters. In high school I was the soloist in the Glee Club, and I played trombone in the marching band! [Editor's note: it's not hard picking out Noella in the photo above.]


"Our ancestors on my father's side came from the Isle of Skye, Scotland in the 1800's. Settling in Georgia and Alabama, they were migrant workers and followed the crops in season. They were then able to buy land and become farmers. Little is known of our family history; tracing names is difficult because some used first names, some middle names. Also, names were changed by mistake. My grandfather's name was Noel and my grandmother's was Marie, so I'm named for both of them. However, my grandfather went by Neal due to a spelling error on a paycheck, so my male cousins were named Neal. I am the only Noel in my generation and was given my own name when I entered the convent. "Nonie" was my nickname because someone could not pronounce the two "Ls" in Noella.


"When I was about eight-years-old I decided to be a nurse. At fourteen I worked and saved my money for nursing school. In June of 1956 a friend was entering the convent, and I was invited to her going away party. By the time I returned home, I had decided to enter the convent too. Why? Only God knows. My plan in life was to be a nurse, get married and have a dozen kids! The Holy Spirit prompted me to say "yes," and I entered the Adrian Dominican Congregation September 6, 1956, the beginning of my senior year of high school. My parents were very supportive as was my whole family.



"When we were given new Office Books and sent to the chapel, who would have known it would be the beginning of a friendship? The novice assigned to teach us how to chant the Office was our very own Sr. Barbara Ann Long! Our paths have crossed many times through the years. We have been praising God in song together for many years now, the last forty-two right here at Holy Cross!


"The Adrian Dominicans were primarily teachers, so I set aside my dream to be a nurse and taught elementary school for twelve years. After Vatican II our Congregation offered the opportunity to pursue a ministry other than teaching, so I made known my desire to be a nurse and went to Detroit Practical Nursing School for one year before returning to Adrian to care for our elderly and ill sisters in our long-term facility. After three years I returned to school for one more year to become a Registered Nurse. The challenges were many: I was older than the women in my classes and, having lived the hidden life of a Catholic Sister under the old rules, I had to adjust to being on my own away from the convent. I had to be more outgoing and aware of life other than my religious community.

"After working two years in obstetrics in Detroit, I came to Santa Cruz. Being a labor nurse was the fulfillment of my childhood dream. I ministered at Dominican Hospital in OB as a staff nurse for twenty-three years.


"I have three Goddaughters named Noella. I try to maintain a relationship with all of these young women, even though they live out of the area. But emails and phone calls as well as Facebook work well."






[Editor's note: Sr. Noella is a much-loved - and "liked" - friend on Facebook. She shares beautiful photos of Michigan which rival California's scenery; she posts wise and funny cartoon/stories about nursing, children and pets. And, like the good teacher and nurse that she is, she reminds us how to stay safe, kind, and engaged. An example is her current Facebook Profile Photo.]





"When I first arrived in Santa Cruz, Sr. Barbara invited me to join the Holy Cross Choir and the rest, as they say, is history. I met Sr. Betty Pedrazzi at the 4 p.m. Mass at Dominican. When she came to Holy Cross, she, Sr. Barbara and I formed our own local Community. We support each other and enjoy a cup of coffee together after morning Mass as time permits. On many occasions we share a meal at Sr. Betty's home. She is an excellent cook! We also look forward to meeting our priest friends for lunch or dinner.


"May I add that I love Holy Cross. I love the people, the beautiful church, and all the friends I have made through the years. I thank God daily for the many blessings of being here in Santa Cruz and especially belonging to Holy Cross. How can I Keep from Singing?"

 

From Sr. Noella's scrapbook: her family, her 80th birthday, and her trip to the Holy Land to celebrate her Golden Jubilee in 2007.

Finally, not to be missed, be sure to listen to Sr. Noella and her sister singing in harmony, the McLeod family tradition.




534 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page